Your Job Isn’t Done Yet, and Neither is Mine

At the end of Matthew Jesus give one of the greatest commandments of all. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

This right here must be the hardest part about Christianity, is actually sharing your faith. I have had such a hard time with this in my own spiritual walk with Christ. The past 3 years have brought me away from Christ, but now it’s time to get going again.

Whenever I have came close the sharing the gospel, my heart races and my palms are sweaty. My mind is racing with every beat of my heart. “What ifs” are flowing threw my mind. I am freaking out as I walk up to the person. Then I slowly get distracted and fall away. I go do something else, or I avoid the person. Why do I do this you might ask? I am a great people person, I can talk to people about a piece of candy or about the weather. Why can’t I talk to them about the one thing that matters? The answer is: I’m scared.

What can this world honestly do to me compared to the glories and riches of heaven? I can be mocked and shunned, but who cares? At any moment I could be standing talking to Jesus, him and I. This is the reward we get as Christians for excepting him into our life and proclaiming that He is Lord. The persecution that we might face isn’t compared to that which Jesus took on the cross. Why must we be afraid when all we have to lose is our pathetic lives? (which its doubtful that we would lose that) We must be ready to stand firm in our faith and be bold, not just from behind a computer screen, but person to person. Some of the best ways that I have noticed in my attempts to share the gospel is to invite them to church or youth group. This Sunday at Lakeside Fellowhip we are talking about Jesus: The Friend of Sinners. Any opportunity to invite someone to church is great but this Sunday if you go to Lakeside I would encourage you to be bold. I know I will be. The idea is to be annoying. Invite the person once, then twice, then three times until finally they are so annoyed about you asking they take you up on it. Seriously! This works, but don’t do it all in one day(that’s calling for it). But be bold. Be ready to invite them, but your job isn’t over yet. Do a follow up, yes seriously, do a follow up and find out what they thought about their experience. Ask them if they have any questions, if they have any questions then be prepared to respond. Be ready! As hard as this might sound, it doesn’t compare to the glories of heaven. My goal is to ask at least 1 person, and invite them to church. Remember! Your job isn’t over just yet.

-Cody Sweeny

Romans 8:18

18 I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

One thought on “Your Job Isn’t Done Yet, and Neither is Mine

Leave a Reply

