Brevity 10/05/13

I love the word brevity, Well, for those that don’t know here’s the definition

brev·i·ty

n.
1. The quality or state of being brief in duration.

I personally use this word in relation to life.

We all know that life is a vapor, but brevity is the bow tie on Matt Smith(sorry doctor who reference), or how about the icing on the cake. Brevity can easily define the events of 10/05/13. We were up north visiting my grandparents for my birthday. Every year they have what is called Band Day. Band day is a competition where local bands are judged in several different areas including parade marching, drum line etc…. For as long as I can remember we have always gone to band day. Enough of band day. My mom took the boys(Mason 4, Austin 2) to band day while I stayed and waited for my ipod to charge, and for my cousin to get off his lazy butt and do something(muhahaha, couldn’t resist). After a while of sitting around, I went and sat with my Mom and my little brothers for the last part of the parade. Parade ended and we started walking back towards my Grandma’s house. On the way back my mom tripped and fell while carrying Austin. I saw it in slow motion out of the corner of my eye. As she fell she twisted so she took the brunt of the fall instead of Austin. None the less Austin still whacked his head with a sickening “thunk”. My Mom sat quietly on her knees holding him, he started to whimper but wouldn’t cry. After about 20 seconds his eyes rolled up into his head and he passed out. I was stuck with the job of calling an ambulance(something I never want to do again). He kind of “came to” as a police officer came to the scene and talked to my mom. We found out later that he had suffered from a slight concussion. I ran back to the house as the ambulance took them away. Austin was pretty grumpy that night and into the next day, but was completely fine and returned to normal the following Monday.

This was such a scary thing, seeing it all in slow motion of a sort. This just reminds me of the brevity of my life and the life of my little brothers. In seeing all of this happen I understand how quickly life can change. If he would have hit his head at another angle we just might be planting flowers on his grave. We hear this every day, but my encouragement would be to live every moment like it’s your last. Don’t be afraid of the future but embrace the plan that God has for your life and finally appreciate every moment, every second you have with your kids or even siblings. As hard as this might be try, because we don’t know what tomorrow will bring.

-Cody Sweeny

Jeremiah 23:11

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

2 thoughts on “Brevity 10/05/13

Leave a Reply

