#tbt

Life is a mysterious thing, one minute you can be on the top of the world, or lower than your own floor. These mountain top experiences are pure emotions. When a true mountain top isn’t emotion at all but faith.

1 Chronicles 11

20Abishai, the brother of Joab, was the leader of the Thirty.g He once used his spear to kill 300 enemy warriors in a single battle. It was by such feats that he became as famous as the Three. 21Abishai was the most famous of the Thirty and was their commander, though he was not one of the Three.

22There was also Benaiah son of Jehoiada, a valiant warrior from Kabzeel. He did many heroic deeds, which included killing two championsh of Moab. Another time, on a snowy day, he chased a lion down into a pit and killed it.23Once, armed only with a club, he killed an Egyptian warrior who was 71/2 feeti tall and whose spear was as thick as a weaver’s beam. Benaiah wrenched the spear from the Egyptian’s hand and killed him with it. 24Deeds like these made Benaiah as famous as the three mightiest warriors. 25He was more honored than the other members of the Thirty, though he was not one of the Three. And David made him captain of his bodyguard.

This is my #tbt, I was sitting in a pew at lake ann, this was the final message of the week. I was about to be severely convicted about my sin. We read through this passage, at the end of the message we, meaning everyone, we cried. Old and young, the people from heartsong were holding back tears. I cried and bawled my eyes out over my sin, I wanted to be courageous for Christ and I still want to today. I easily pass over this memory in my day dreams, but it was this moment that gave me the courage to share my story that night at the glory bowl. And to eventually share it at my church and to the world. We were challenged be our speaker Ken Rudolph to man up. I was challenged that a true man should by willing and have courage and faith to share what he believes. Life is a funny thing, time is much more. What I have learned since then is to be prepared and willing. I want to be a man like Benaiah, I want to be the person to step into the (imaginary) pit. Ready with a verse and a soft heart. If you are a Christian guy I would highly encourage you to read this passage. Feel free to respond in the comments. Don’t be shy by any means. I’m looking for some interaction here, share what God is doing in your life. Thank you, please read this over. My #tbt reminds me of a time when I gave my sin to Christ. Don’t hold back.

-Cody Sweeny

22b “Another time, on a snowy day, he chased a lion down into a pit and killed it.”

 

Note: any links on this page are absolutely and 100 percent safe. I encourage you to click on them and read about my experiences and  my passions. If you ever have a question please comment and I would be happy to answer or help in any way I can.

Leave a Reply

