Thanksgiving: Salvation

Here goes:

(notice the new header?)

My salvation is pretty basic, I went to a camp up in northern Iowa, and through guilt of death in hell, I was saved. At this particular camp the only thing they preached was your going to hell, accept Jesus as savior. After that I got “saved” at least 4 more times either through church or Jr. boys camp. I was raised with this question the other day: Why do I believe what I believe is true….

That question sent my head spinning, I grew up in the church, I grew up knowing everything. Sunday school, Vbs, Awana. I did it all, and I couldn’t answer a simple question. After thinking about it I had a few different replies back:

Logic (God is the only logical explanation)

What I grew up doing

And what I truly believe.

Ironically I went with the last one. I truly believe that Jesus is in heaven, preparing a place for me. I have seen Jesus in action At different camps and retreats I have seen people saved, I have seen some of the toughest guys I have ever met, kneel down and cry. I have seen the power of Christ. This is why I believe what I believe.

I was one of these hard guys. Over the years I have been used to being in church. I knew all the answers. I went to Subzero 2012 and my mindset was changed.

Right away Don Jackson told us to open our hearts. To not let this weekend go by just as another retreat, but to be challenged and changed. It was after this weekend that I really lived up to what I believe. I didn’t hide my faith. Everyone needs a moment like this, where they know what they believe, but they truly live up to it. As Christians we tend to hide in the background of the world. We need to need be on the front lines with a bible and a pen. Ready and prepared to share the gospel.

So I guess you could say that I was reconfirmed in my beliefs at Subzero 2012. I am still a work in progress but I am getting better each and everyday. Thank you!

 

-Cody Sweeny

 

Leave a Reply

